When is it time to be afraid?

I don’t know about you but I have anxiety ALL the time. I do. I don’t always talk about it and if I do, then it is usually with someone that already  knows about my quirks. You know how it is. I am sure there are things that you do or think that not everyone will understand. I admitted to someone just recently that I am obsessed..OBSESSED!…about checking my teeth. She laughed and said “Thank you!”  We laughed because I looked at her quite oddly and she explained that she just loved to hear when other people have quirks too. It is true. We think we are the strange ones but in reality, everyone is strange in their own way. And just like a conversation I had over a year ago with a good friend: we all have our demons.

We might not admit to it, but we do.   We shouldn’t be afraid to be ourselves, to let people see the real you. So..I am showing it! I have procrastinated, I have edited and reedited, I have had anxiety about it and then my best friend said “What if Stephen King had been afraid to show his work?” Well, first, I am NO Stephen King. I am nowhere near being Stephen King. If you didn’t know, he is MY author. He is THE author I go to if I need a really good book, if I need my world to be rocked, if I need a good scare, if I need motivation. Her question is still a good question. He wrote what he wanted to write. So that is what I am doing. If you don’t like it then it isn’t your cup of tea and if you do like it, then totally awesome!

My 1st book was a compilation of quotes, sayings, etc. about What Makes  A Good Teacher. My 2nd book is now out. It is a short stories book. It is small, totally great, creepy, weird AND I am completely IN LOVE with it. The first story has always been a true love of mine. It is the main reason why I needed the book to be published. I needed the story to be read.

http://www.amazon.com/Stories-After-Dark-Jessica-Warren-ebook/dp/B00L3W6OS6

SAD

The paperback version will be out in just a couple days. I had to make some last minute changes that caused a delay, but I couldn’t wait to announce that the ebook version was ready! I am scared at what people will think, but I am overwhelmed with excitement that I am releasing it out into the wild! I will warn you…if you like romantic, happy endings then this is not the book for you. The stories are dark, will hopefully make you think twice about what is going on, and will leave you to your imagination in the end.

I mentioned I have anxiety, but for me (and it doesn’t work for everyone) when I am scared of doing something and scared for an irrational reason, then that means I need to make myself do it. I am a teacher yet I have always had anxiety about talking in front of people. I am a writer yet I have anxiety about what people might think of my ideas and my writing. I am a mother yet I have anxiety about am I doing a great job.

Just do your best in life, do what you love, if people don’t like you or your work, then they just don’t.  Nothing can be done about that. As long as you are doing your best and not cowering in fear, thus growing as a person, then you are on the right track. Take it or leave it. and, as always, here is your video for today! (I always love Eminem..I just do. Excuse the language if you are my mom!)

If you read the ebook or paperback version, please let me know what you think. And after reading today’s post..if you don’t like my book then feel free to tell me, but in a nice way! ❤

3 thoughts on “When is it time to be afraid?

Leave a Reply

