Testing the Teacher

I always joke that I am a special education teacher because I need an IEP myself.  And I am a firm believer that most  jokes have a hint of truth in them.  A lot of my students struggle with testing. They may know the answers, but cannot show it on a test. Their test anxiety gets in the way.  I totally get it. I am the same way.

I decided recently to take a huge test (Praxis) so that I could possibly switch from being a special education teacher to a regular education reading teacher. I just want the option. Sometimes I need a change in life so I like to just go for it and see what I can do.  I am trying to study, but I find it hard to study for a test like this. I never studied for SATs or MATs or other Praxis’ tests because you either know it or you don’t. However, I am attempting to study but to be honest, I just don’t know all the literature that I should (who wrote what and in what years it was written). I hate to admit it, but it is true. So I am trying to study. I found some study guides that people have created but that just overwhelmed me:

praxis

So I study some, I read some, I watched my soap operas, I checked out who won on my Goodreads giveaway, and I studied some more. I will be upset if I fail this exam; however, failure doesn’t mean the end…it just means something to try to conquer again. Wish me luck for Monday is the day.

Leave a Reply

