Running Back in Time

Embed from Getty Images

Today, I ran a very popular 10k near where I live. Well, before I tell you more, let me say by “run” I mean just jogging and walking. Today it rained the entire time. This was my 5th or  6th time doing the 10k and the last time it rained, I was miserable. However, this time I looked at it completely differently.

Sure, my hat was dripping wet. I was walking and running in wet tennis shoes (sneakers if you prefer). I was completely soaked from head to toe. There were thousands and thousands of people around me. But then I truly just started loving everything about it. Everything.

Embed from Getty Images

The difference is that the last time I ran in the rain at this 10k, I was not  a mother. Presently, I am a mother of a three-year-old and he has helped me remember the joy in so many things. So this time, I truly enjoyed being rained on. I would look up at the sky and let the rain hit my cheeks. I secretly wanted to pounce into puddles, but chose not to possibly fall since I had miles more until the finish line. With my luck, that is exactly what would have happened.

At one point, it turned from a drizzle to an actual rain. Some people complained. Some smiled in shock that they were running in the rain. I just smiled and giggled to myself. It felt like I was a kid again and back then, there was nothing better than playing and splashing around in the rain. There still is nothing better. I can’t wait for next year’s 10k.

Embed from Getty Images

Now off to get new rain gear for my son! and maybe some for me too!

Leave a Reply

